Is it bad to become an aggressive woman?

Originally published on 09 Feb 2017 3:52 PM

I’m not sure the context of this question, but I’m assuming, in courting for potential mates?

“Aggressive” women in dating tend to be seen negatively in a lot of Asian countries. That is, women who take charge in the dating scene. It doesn’t necessarily mean she is giving all the orders, paying the tab or tell her guy to go around doing things for her—something as simple as striking the first word in a conversation or maybe doing all the “dirty work” guys would usually tend to do here, like calling first, texting first and so on. Most women I came across won’t really do that for reason only they know best, but few were very proactive, and I appreciated that.

In sexual relationship, in the same Asian perspective, “aggressive” women can often be mistaken for sexually thirsty women. It could always be her character being more expressive physically and very normal stuff like that, but I bet you anything very little people here (at least my country) would take it that way.

But being a complicated gender in complicated society, I can’t say whether it’s good or bad to be “aggressive” as a woman. Aggressive men have their own problems too, but that’s story for another time.

Leave a comment